Buy Vintage Maryland Postcards Pagoda Patterson Park Baltimore
pagoda Patterson Park Baltimore Maryland
- HISTORY. Patterson Park is one of the oldest parks in Baltimore, spanning 300 years of the city’s spirited history. … On Hampstead Hill, the ridge where the Pagoda now stands, Baltimoreans rallied on September 12, 1814 to protect the city from the threat of a British invasion.
- Designed in 1890 by Charles H. Latrobe, then Superintendent of Parks, the Pagoda, was originally known as the Observatory
- Over time and due to natural decay, vandalism, and lack of maintenance funds, the Pagoda was closed to the public in 1951
- Patterson Park. In 1708, the land was conveyed to Nicholas Rogers, and in 1792 William Patterson purchased the 200 acre Harris Creek Rogers estate at auction for $8,500.
- By water, British troops entered the Patapsco River and bombarded Fort McHenry. By land, they amassed forces at North Point. As they marched on to Baltimore and looked up to Hampstead Hill they saw Rodger’s Bastion – including 100 cannons and 20,000 troops. This sight led the British to return to their ships and leave the Port of Baltimore
- on the eve of the Civil War in 1861, all parks and open spaces were earmarked for troop occupation. Camp Washburn was established on Hampstead Hill and later a hospital – Camp Patterson Park – was set up. Once again, Hampstead Hill was a strategic military lookout and fortification.When the hospital was dismantled in 1864, the park was in deplorable condition
1 in stock